We all have dark hair! -even though she is blond…

I love kids so much, that I have the feeling they know it ’cause mostly everywhere I go they end up gathering around me, and engage into a never ending conversation.
We all know I would volunteer at my daughter’s new school too. It took me a few weeks to do so, but I eventually did.

Thanks to the fact that the teacher understood my will to do something, and add  it to her urge to have help with the kids. I now have a place to go every week at least twice a week, and work with them.

Some times we do some Science Projects which mainly involves painting- hooray colors!
In other situations I help out alphabetizing some of the kids who were not exposed as much to the world of words, and therefore do not know much about them -yet.
It took me a little bit more than 4 visits to get more familiar with them, now I always get tons of hugs, delicious ones!
What made me so happy today was this small moment, a particular event when the following took place:

As that group composed of 3 girls came in, one of them looked at me, as she usually does and kindly said:
-Hey look we all have dark hair!

I was caught by surprise I confess, remember I am mulata? She on the other hand is blond, green eyed, we have absolutely nothing in common.

“Do you mean I have brown hair? I am supposed to you know?…- she interrupted me- ‘No I mean we all here in the room have dark hair you see?’, then she lifted hers in order to show me a thin layer of dark blond hair. Coincidently Betty was in that group, and quickly tried to explain her friend better:

“She means we all have dark hair because her hair is not as light, as the other girls’.”

The third girl in there -the fairest of them all said:

“Yeah we all have kind of dark hair!”-Fact is none of them does…except for Betty and I.

There they were, so happy about and resting  their case! I had to admit that they were right, and went on with the project, as I still had many more kids to work with.

…                                           …                                  …

I learned once again that kids see whatever they want to, because they do see things in their hearts.

It does not mean they are too naive or even stupid, and do not realize the skin color, it means that they do have the inner ability to see past that, and in the attempt to make a connection  that would validate the fact that despite the differences existing between us every thing is OK. still we like each other, we are friends.

What once was odd, segragate and strange to them, is now connected by the bridge of ‘we care about each other kind of love‘. The once different and apart is now similar, close.

She needed now to bring the abstract -love, care- into the material world so that she could materialize her feeling. What went through her mind was: Why can’t we simply like each other if we are all the same? Are we the same, she might have asked herself, yes we are. Look our hair!

That girl kind of escaped reality itself and brought from the imaginary world the only similarity she was able to find and manage.

This is something only kids can see, work and live with the fact that:

WE ARE ALL THE SAME.

take good care,

Drikka

Leave a Reply

