A bit of myself · be good to yourself · Canada Winter · Edmonton · family · love · motherhood · Personal matters · Winter in Alberta

All we need is love

Hello there,

I have been away a bit, but for a good reason.

My family and I arrived in Canada this past September, it has been such an enriching experience, and for more that I could expect something new, the experiences we are living here are above and beyond our expectations. Read me right I didn’t mean better or worse, I meant far different from what we expected.

My husband is not only doing his post-doc researches, but also teaches 2 subjects at the University of Alberta, my daughter suffered so much, cried, and went through real difficult times as soon as we arrived here, her first month was awful, mainly for both of us, because I was the one to take her to school, knowing she would spend the next 6 hours of her day struggling to make sense of what she was listening there. And for her because she was the one who had to live all that. She got a few viruses too!

Fortunately she did great, and learned in no time. Her teachers are the most wonderful creatures and I owe them a lot, I can’t help but saying all the school was very supportive! Being a teacher myself for over 20 years I could realize that the educational system up here is really alert towards child needs and that made me strong enough to give her a time, while helping her out with her daily difficulties. I tell you it was tough, the same as I tell you it paid off, and within a period of 40 days she was so happy in Canada, that she keeps asking me if we can get to stay here for a longer period. Up until now she does not miss Brazil.

Well I do have my job back home, I also have my dear “Glaser Crafts” down there, which I can honestly say is much more profitable than up here, my husband is a professor there too and took a one year leave on the account of the post-doc. Even tough we are considering staying here a little longer because …what wouldn’t we do for the sake of the kids?…

I told her if I could get a job, and Daddy too we could put some more thought to the matter. Last week I did, I actually signed a contract on the very day of my birthday!

It does not pay much, but I deal with people all the time, and guess what? Don’t I feel great?! When I first got here people kept telling me about the differences between Canadians and Brazilians, and what sometimes might appear a simple conversation to me, might sound as a harassment here. So I haven’t been myself for the past few months. On Monday in my shift I gave it a shot and tried to smile a bit more, show that I cared, and occasionally engage into some sort of a small talk. Wanna know what happened? My boss congratulated me!- in secrecy when I went to get my next week’s schedule just because.

– I showed the costumers I cared.

In the end what I am learning in this beautiful journey is:

All we need is love.

No matter where we are, the world is sick and tired of negative things, and people are willing to receive some attention, talk about themselves, and maybe go home happier than they were when entered in the building.

Have yourself a wonderful weekend! Take care and show you care!

Drikka.

P.S.: Forgot to mention yesterday it snowed tons! So we are back to trying to make our first snow man ever!